Ballon d’Or: Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo, Sadio Mane on shortlist for award

Ballon d’Or: Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo, Sadio Mane on shortlist for award
Van Dijk helped Liverpool defend shut the Champions League final season

Virgil van Dijk is one among six Liverpool avid gamers to be named alongside Cristiano Ronaldo on the 30-man shortlist for the 2019 Ballon d’Or.

Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Georginio Wijnaldum and Alisson have confidence furthermore been chosen from the Reds.

The value is ongoing with the plump listing anticipated to be achieved at around 20:00 BST.

Lionel Messi is anticipated to be included among the nominees yet to be announced.

Champions League winners Liverpool have confidence by a long way doubtlessly the most avid gamers on the listing from one Premier League membership.

Manchester Metropolis and Tottenham have confidence two, with Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva from the Premier League title holders and Hugo Lloris and Son Heung-min from Spurs.

Arsenal ahead Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is furthermore on the listing.

The Ballon d’Or winner will likely be named in Paris on 2 December.

Luka Modric won in 2018 to end the seven-year dominance of the award by Messi and Ronaldo.

Van Dijk is among then favourites to defend shut this year’s award after being named Uefa Player of the Year in August.

What are the three critical participant of the year awards?

A version of the Ballon d’Or has been awarded by France Football magazine since 1956, but change into as soon as merged with Fifa’s World Footballer of the Year award from 2010 to 2015.

On the opposite hand, Fifa ended their affiliation with the Ballon d’Or the next year to space up their have – the Most tremendous Fifa Player award.

In September, Lionel Messi won that award within the fourth version of the Most tremendous Fifa Football Awards, space up after soccer’s world governing physique ended its affiliation with the Ballon d’Or.

Within the period in-between, Uefa’s Player of the Year award has been going since 1998 and change into as soon as beforehand known as Uefa Membership Footballer of the Year (1998-2010) and Uefa Most tremendous Player in Europe (2011-sixteen).

Checklist of nominees revealed thus a long way

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Bernardo Silva (Manchester Metropolis)

Son Heung-min (Tottenham)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)

Alisson (Liverpool)

Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus)

Karim Benzema (Proper Madrid)

Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

Sergio Aguero (Manchester Metropolis)

Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

Dusan Tadic (Ajax)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)????????????????????????

Donny van de Beek (Ajax)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)

Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

More to apply.