Gotham Awards 2017: Glimpse the complete winners checklist


The twenty seventh annual IFP Gotham Awards are taking net page Monday evening in Unique York City, honoring the year’s most productive in just film and offering about a of the first tea leaves of a nascent awards season.

Heading into the evening, Jordan Peele’s racially charged fright film Get Out led the pack with four nominations: Handiest Characteristic, Handiest Actor (Daniel Kaluuya), Handiest Screenplay (Peele), and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award (Peele all over again).

Additionally within the combine for Handiest Characteristic are Luca Guadagnino’s coming-of-age romance Call Me By Your Title (which landed two other nominations, including a Breakthrough Actor nod for large name Timothée Chalamet), Sean Baker’s scrappy childhood drama The Florida Mission (which earned Willem Dafoe a Handiest Actor nomination and scored three nominations total), Ben and Josh Safdie’s gritty crime thriller Upright Time (which also nabbed a nomination for large name Robert Pattinson), and Craig Gillespie’s Tonya Harding biopic I, Tonya (for which Margot Robbie is up for Handiest Actress).

Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird is competing in three categories as smartly: Handiest Actress (Saoirse Ronan) as smartly as Handiest Screenplay and Handiest Director (every for Gerwig).

In addition to to the competitive awards, Gotham Tributes will likely be given to actors Nicole Kidman and Dustin Hoffman, director Sofia Coppola, producer Jason Blum, cinematographer Ed Lachman, and politician-turned-climate-change-activist Al Gore. The cast of Mudbound will likely be identified with a Special Jury Prize, and actor Michael K. Williams will bag the Made in NY award.

The Gotham Awards luxuriate in foretold Oscar glory the previous three years. Birdman, Highlight, and Moonlight all won Handiest Characteristic and went on to claim Handiest Image on the next Academy Awards. John Cameron Mitchell is websites hosting.

Glimpse a total checklist of Gotham Award winners, that would possibly be updated constantly, below. (Bolded names mutter winners.)

Handiest Characteristic

Call Me by Your Title
Luca Guadagnino, director; Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman, producers (Sony Footage Classics)

The Florida Mission
Sean Baker, director; Sean Baker, Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou, producers (A24)

Get Out
Jordan Peele, director; Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jordan Peele, producers (Fashioned Footage)

Upright Time
Josh and Benny Safdie, directors; Paris Kasidokostas-Latsis, Terry Dougas, Sebastian Undergo-McClard, Oscar Boyson, producers (A24)

I, Tonya
Craig Gillespie, director; Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley, producers (NEON)

Handiest Documentary

Ex Libris – The Unique York Public Library
Frederick Wiseman, director and producer (Zipporah Motion photos)

Rat Film
Theo Anthony, director; Riel Roch-Decter, Sebastian Pardo, producers (MEMORY and Cinema Guild)

Sturdy Island
Yance Ford, director; Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Netflix)

Whose Streets?
Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, directors; Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, Jennifer MacArthur, Flannery Miller, producers (Magnolia Footage)

The Work
Jairus McLeary, director; Alice Henty, Eon McLeary, Jairus McLeary, Miles McLeary, producers (The Orchard and First Explore Media)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Maggie Betts for Novitiate (Sony Footage Classics)

Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird (A24)

Kogonada for Columbus (Superlative Motion photos/Depth of Subject)

WINNER: Jordan Peele for Get Out (Fashioned Footage)

Joshua Z Weinstein for Menashe (A24)

Handiest Screenplay

The Mammoth In sad health, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (Amazon Studios)

Brad’s Region, Mike White (Amazon Studios)

Call Me by Your Title, James Ivory (Sony Footage Classics)

Columbus, Kogonada (Superlative Motion photos/Depth of Subject)

WINNER: Get Out, Jordan Peele (Fashioned Footage)

Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig (A24)

Handiest Actor

Willem Dafoe in The Florida Mission (A24)

WINNER: James Franco in The Anguish Artist (A24)

Daniel Kaluuya in Get Out (Fashioned Footage)

Robert Pattinson in Upright Time (A24)

Adam Sandler in The Meyerowitz Stories (Unique and Chosen) (Netflix)

Harry Dean Stanton in Lucky (Magnolia Footage)

Handiest Actress

Melanie Lynskey in I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore (Netflix)

Haley Lu Richardson in Columbus (Superlative Motion photos/Depth of Subject)

Margot Robbie in I, Tonya (NEON)

WINNER: Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird (A24)

Lois Smith in Marjorie Prime (FilmRise)

Breakthrough Actor

Mary J. Blige in Mudbound (Netflix)

WINNER: Timothée Chalamet in Call Me by Your Title (Sony Footage Classics)

Harris Dickinson in Beach Rats (NEON)

Kelvin Harrison, Jr. in It Comes at Night (A24)

Brooklynn Prince in The Florida Mission (A24)

Breakthrough Sequence – Prolonged Form

Atlanta, Donald Glover, creator; Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms, govt producers (FX Networks)

Better Things, Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K., creators; Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Pamela Adlon, govt producers (FX Networks)

Dear White Other folks, Justin Simien, creator; Yvette Bowser, Justin Simien, Stephanie Allain, Julia Lebedev, govt producers (Netflix)

Fleabag, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, creator; Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, govt producers (Amazon)

Search Get collectively, Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, creators; Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, Tony Hernandez, Lilly Burns, govt producers (TBS)

Breakthrough Sequence – Short Form

555, Kate Berlant, Andrew DeYoung and John Early, creators (Vimeo)

Inconceivable, Joel Ashton McCarthy, creator (YouTube)

Junior, Zoe Cassavetes, creator (Blackpills and VICE)

Let Me Die a Nun, Sarah Salovaara, creator (Vimeo)

WINNER: The Unfamiliar Eyes of Dr. Myes, Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube)

Comments are closed.