Rugby World Cup: Michael Cheika names David Pocock in Australia squad

Rugby World Cup: Michael Cheika names David Pocock in Australia squad
David Pocock has now no longer played for Australia since November 2018

Australia coach Michael Cheika has named uncapped baby Jordan Petaia and David Pocock in his World Cup squad, despite the ahead’s neatly being considerations.

Pocock, 31, has now no longer played for the Wallabies since November 2018 resulting from of a calf injury nonetheless joins an experienced squad with lend a hand Adam Ashley-Cooper, who has 117 caps.

Waft-half Christian Lealiifano, who used to be diagnosed with leukaemia in August 2016, is also within the squad.

“I’m assured,” Cheika acknowledged.

“We will be a puny of bit unpredictable, that’s been a puny of little bit of our theme this year, if we fabricate now no longer know what we’re doing no person will know what we’re doing.”

The two-time world champions will doubtless be captained by flanker Michael Hooper, 27, and elevate a squad with an total of 1,406 caps.

One among primarily the most experienced avid gamers is versatile lend a hand Ashley-Cooper, 35, who’s determined to change into handiest the second Australian to play at 4 World Cups after George Gregan.

Kurtley Beale, 30, is chosen at fullback within the absence of Israel Folau, who used to be sacked earlier this year, with Dane Haylett-Petty, 30, in as lend a hand-up.

Australia open their World Cup campaign against Fiji on 21 September and inch on to face Wales, Uruguay and Georgia within the pool stage.

The Wallabies reached the remaining of the 2015 match, nonetheless misplaced 34-17 to Contemporary Zealand.

Australia squad:

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Jack Dempsey, Folau Fainga’a, Michael Hooper (captain), Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Isi Naisarani, David Pocock, Izack Rodda, Retract Simmons, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese.

Backs: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Samu Kerevi, Marika Koroibete, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, James O’Connor, Jordan Petaia, Matt Toomua, Nic White.